Frances Lee, Co-Chair Select Committee on Modernization of Congress, Releases Final Report

Friday, Jan 10, 2020

Concerns about the state of Congress have sparked a number of reform efforts. Among these was the creation of a new Congressional committee: the Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress. To contribute to this effort, the American Political Science Association created the Task Force Project on Congressional Reform, which was co-chaired by Frances E. Lee, professor of politics and public affairs at Princeton University, and Eric Schickler, the Jeffrey and Ashley McDermott Endowed Chair at University of California, Berkeley.  Professor Nolan McCarty, Susan Dod Brown Professor of Politics and Public Affairs at Princeton, served on the task force.

final report was produced, which members of the task force presented at a Jan. 9 meeting at the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C. “I was honored to be asked to co-chair this effort and saw the task force as an opportunity for political science to be relevant for real-world questions of institutional reform,” Lee said. Read the final report here.

Both Professors Frances Lee and Nolan McCarty are CSDP faculty associates, and Lee currently serves on the CSDP Executive Committee.