Former CSDP Fellows Receive Awards at APSA 2011

Thursday, Sep 8, 2011
Diana C. Mutz, the Samuel A. Stouffer Professor of Communication and Political Science at the University of Pennsylvania, is the recipient of the 2011 Murray Edelman Distinguished Career Award from the American Political Science Association’s Political Communication Section. Professor Mutz was a Visiting Scholar at CSDP for the 2009-2010 academic year. The award, named after the late Murray Edelman, a trailblazing scholar of political science communication, was established in 1992 and is given to academic professionals whose research has had a lasting and significant impact on the field.

Robert D. Putnam (Harvard University) and David E. Campbell (University of Notre Dame) received the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award for American Grace: How Religion Divides and Unites Us (Simon and Schuster). The Wilson Award recognizes the best book published in the U.S. during the previous calendar year on government, politics, or international affairs. The award is supported by the Woodrow Wilson Foundation. Both Robert Putnam and David Campbell were CSDP Fellows -- Putnam in 2006-2007 while working on American Grace, and Campbell in 2001-2002.